The Imprint of Fear

I’m not going to lie:  my crazy days were truly that.  My past behavior burned a memory into my family’s psyche that I may never be able to recast.

 

A while ago, my sister-in-law asked if my husband and I would agree to be named guardians for their children.  It was a big moment.  She’d been contemplating the what-if of death, thinking how no one could parent their children the way they did.  I was honored and accepted the invitation.  Then she asked me if I’d had any “incidents.”

 

We’d been going on walks for years where I demonstrated nothing but sanity.  She was desperate: in her brain, she could still see a snapshot of me in the late eighties, deluded and psychotic.  Her mind forgot all she’d seen in the years since.

 

But I expect my kids to be exempt from membership in The Worriers’ Club.  They were toddlers back in the day.  All they have are a few stories to paint the picture of my manic past, yet apparently they carry the same snapshot my sister-in-law does.

 

In an art gallery with my sister, a woman devoted to reading every plaque next to every painting, I became bored.  I sat down on a bench and texted my kids, telling them I’d licked a painting.  Now, my story went, I had a green chip of oil paint on my tongue. They texted back that I had to rinse my mouth and leave the museum.  It was important to elude the guard.

 

I thought this was just fun between a wacky mom and her children.  They, however, were serious.  It was devastating.   All their lives I’ve told them stories, glossed reality with a little sugar of the make believe.  Added to my sadness that they’d taken my story seriously, was the thought they could imagine me licking a painting.  My kind of crazy is the sort where I emerge larger than the mortals surrounding me.  Lick a painting, bah!

 

I may never shed the reality of my past and the faint image of fear it has left on my loved ones.  All I can do is devote myself to mental health, and try to be understanding when their perspective is off.

 

About lpreston13

I'm married. My children are grown and pursuing professional careers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment